Year One

Part V

I was offered a position to teach in a South Carolina on May 10, 2013. I accepted this offer to join TFA six months later. A lot of things in my life changed between November 2013 and May 2014, and even now to August 2014 when I moved. I mean this in the sense that second semester I wasn’t drowning in extracurricular and academic commitments, and I actually had a second to breathe and think about my life and who I am and who I want to be.

I officially clicked “confirm,” around midnight on Halloween 2k13. I decided I needed to move because I decided I needed to get away. I do not know why I held to this belief so steadfastly. I decided that if I stayed, I wouldn’t leave Foggy Bottom or let go of my college life. I decided that I needed to start anew, to try something difficult and scary. I decided that I needed to find myself.

Now, I don’t know if I was actually lost.

Standard

Leave a Reply

